1.2 Target Market

Who are you developing your product for, exactly?

The Target Market is the subset of all possible buyers or users of an offer for whom it is specifically intended. For example, the motorcycle manufacturer Harley-Davidson defines its Target Market as “macho men (or wannabe machos), mainly in the USA, who want to join a gang of cowboys”.

The Target Market does not include everyone who could theoretically buy the product. (This group is called the Selling Target). Harley-Davidson’s Target Market does not consist of all the motorcycle owners in the world, although all of them could, in principle, buy and use their product. Instead, their Target Market is a precisely described subset for which the company can develop a product that is tailored to their specific needs. Harley Davidson’s bikes look very different to those made by other manufacturers and the company also maintains an image to match them.

There is only one winning strategy. It is to carefully define the target market and direct a superior offering to that target market.

Philip Kotler

The choice of Target Market has three important functions for startups:

  • It generates requirements for the future product. (What must it do? What Customer Benefits must it provide?)
  • It determines the marketing strategy. (How do we present the product? What arguments should we present?)
  • It indicates where test users might be found and how to approach the first customers.

Startup founders should have a Target Market in mind right from the very beginning. Without one, they cannot make any significant progress in their planning.

As Precise as Possible

Startup founders are often tempted to define their Target Market too broadly. This makes them too heterogeneous and thus unmanageable. It is not usually possible to develop a product that delights everybody in a heterogeneous group, because their expectations vary too much. And even if this were possible, the development of such a product would take too long and overstretch the startup’s limited resources.

Having a well-defined, homogeneous Target Market has several advantages for startups:

  • The needs of its members are similar or identical. This allows the product to be developed faster, and the result is more satisfying for everyone.
  • The startup can reach all members of the Target Market with the same channels and the same messaging. This makes marketing simpler and more efficient.

In large markets, atypical customers are usually not served well by large companies’ products. This leads to startups that specialize in these niches. For example, there are several startups such as Wire who build secure communication software. Their Target Market consists of people who are not happy that their messages can be read by others and that their user profiles are passed on to third parties and who therefore want to avoid the products offered by large corporations.

Precision does not Mean Exclusion

Founders sometimes reject the suggestion to define their Target Markets narrowly, because they are afraid that this will inhibit their growth potential. However, this is a mistake: The Target Market de-fines the people on whom the company is focusing; it does not imply that others are excluded. If, for example, a man wants to buy a women’s magazine, the publishers will not object, even though their editors didn’t create the contents with men in mind. Besides, after a startup has made a successful start, their growth strategy will successively address additional markets.

Finding Target Market Attributes

Target Markets should be defined using Customer Needs, for example:

  • School leavers who do not know which study program is best for them
  • “Macho men who want to join a gang of cowboys”
  • Companies who have to dispose of their oil-contaminated waste in the manner prescribed by law.

These three examples correspond to the Pain, Gain and Job-to-be-done from Topic 1.1 Customer Need.

Ideally, a Target Market fulfils the following criteria:

  • It is the people for whom the Customer Need from Topic 1.1 is strongest.
  • It is the people who will be most excited about the solution.
  • It is the people who will profit most from the specific advantages of the offer.
  • It is the people who will most probably buy the product.

Traditional Attributes Alone are Not Enough

Traditionally, Target Markets were defined simply by demographic or statistical attributes, for example age, marital status or income for consumers, or industry, numbers of employees or annual turnover for companies.

However, attributes like these are not enough. “Companies with annual sales over 100 M€“ does not help an innovation consultant to design his or her service. By contrast, “Companies with annual sales over 100 M€ with an acute need to update their products” might. Here, the additional information indicates what kind of company might have a strong interest in professional innovation consulting.

Demographic and statistical attributes should be used as optional information that gives additional hints about Customer Needs. Of the two alternatives…

  • “Women who want to do more sport” and
  • “Women over 50 who want to do more sport”

The added age specification implicitly supplies a lot of information about possible Customer Needs.

Multi-Sided Markets

Some business models have so-called multi-sided markets. That means that they have to serve two or more customer groups. Some examples are:

  • Ebay: Buyers and sellers
  • Airbnb: Apartment owners and travellers
  • Google: Internet users and advertisers

Trading and matching platforms like Ebay and Airbnb automatically have multi-sided markets. Simi-larly, advertising platforms like Google and Facebook always have both advertisers and the users who those advertisers are targeting.

Startups with multi-sided markets have twice the amount of work to do, since they have to define two Target Markets and two sets of Customer Needs and develop an offer that satisfies both simultaneously.

Organizations as Target Markets

If the target market is made up of organizations, it is sufficient in Phase 1 to characterize those organizations. Topics 4.1 Customer Profile and 5.1 Customer Acquisition describe how to deal with the individuals inside those organizations who influence the buying decision.

This Topic’s Key Question

  • Who needs the product you want to develop and why do they need it?

Next Step

Downloads

Chapter

Working Material

Working material for this chapter:

  • Worksheet 1.2.1: Describe Your Target Market
  • Airchecker Example 1.2.1 Characterizing Target Markets

All working material is available via a password-protected page.

1.2 Target Market

Version 2.0 vom 21.08.17

Für wen genau entwickelt ihr euer Produkt?

Die Zielgruppe (Target Market) ist die Teilmenge aller potentiellen Käufer bzw. Nutzer eines Angebotes, an die sich ein Unternehmen ausdrücklich wendet. Der Motorrad-Hersteller Harley-Davidson definiert seine Zielgruppe beispielsweise als „Macho-Männer (oder Möchtegern-Machos), hauptsächlich in USA, die einer Bande Cowboys beitreten möchten“.

Die Zielgruppe umfasst nicht alle, die theoretisch das Produkt kaufen könnten. (Diese Gruppe wird Selling Target genannt). Harley-Davidsons Zielgruppe besteht eben nicht aus allen Motorradfahrern weltweit, obwohl jeder von ihnen prinzipiell ihr Produkt kaufen und sinnvoll nutzen könnte. Vielmehr ist die Zielgruppe eine genau charakterisierte Teilmenge, für die das Unternehmen ein Produkt entwickeln kann, das genau auf deren Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten ist.

There is only one winning strategy. It is to carefully define the target market and direct a superior offering to that target market.

Philip Kotler

Die Wahl der Zielgruppe hat drei wichtige Funktionen für Startups:

  • Sie macht Vorgaben für das zu entwickelnde Produkt. (Was muss es leisten? Welche Kundenvorteile muss es bringen?)
  • Sie bestimmt die Marketing-Strategie. (Positionierung, Werbung, Nutzenversprechen, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, …)
  • In der Validierungsphase gibt sie Hinweise, wo Testnutzer zu finden sind und wie sie zum Mitmachen überzeugt werden können.

Je präziser, desto besser

Startup-Gründer sind oft versucht, die Zielgruppe zu breit zu wählen. Dadurch wird sie zwangsläufig heterogen und nicht mehr handhabbar. Es ist meistens nicht möglich, ein Produkt zu entwickeln, das jeden begeistert, denn die Erwartungen innerhalb einer großen Gruppe unterscheiden sich zu stark. Selbst wenn dies möglich wäre, würde die Entwicklung eines solchen Produktes zu lange dauern und die beschränkten Ressourcen eines Startups überfordern.

Eine genau umrissene, homogene Zielgruppe hat gerade für Startups einige Vorteile:

  • Die Bedürfnisse ihrer Mitglieder sind ähnlich oder gleich. Dadurch kann das Produkt schneller entwickelt werden, und das Ergebnis gefällt allen besser.
  • Alle Mitglieder der Zielgruppe können mit demselben Kanal erreicht und mit denselben Botschaften angesprochen werden. Dies macht das Marketing einfacher und effizienter.

In großen Märkten werden nicht-typische Kunden von den Produkten großer Unternehmen meistens nicht optimal bedient. Viele Startups entstehen, indem sie sich auf solche Nischenmärkte spezialisieren. So gibt es beispielsweise einige Startups wie Wire, die sichere Kommunikationssoftware bauen. Ihre Zielgruppe sind Menschen, die verhindern wollen, dass ihre Nachrichten von Fremden gelesen und ihre Nutzerprofile an Dritte verkauft werden.

Präzision bedeutet nicht Verzicht

Gründer sträuben sich manchmal gegen eine enge Definition ihrer Zielgruppe, weil sie befürchten, dass das ihre Wachstumspotenzial einschränkt. Dies ist aber ein Irrtum: Die Zielgruppe beschreibt die Personen, auf die das Unternehmen ihre Bemühungen fokussieren will; Es wird aber dadurch niemand ausgeschlossen. Wenn beispielsweise ein Mann eine Frauenzeitschrift kaufen will, wehrt sich der Verlag ja nicht dagegen, auch wenn seine Redaktion die Inhalte nicht für Männer konzipiert hat.

Zielgruppenmerkmale finden

Eine Zielgruppe sollte über ein Kundenbedürfnis definiert werden. Dieses Bedürfnis kann beispielsweise sein…

  • Ein Problem. Zum Beispiel Abiturienten, die nicht wissen, welcher Studiengang für sie am besten geeignet ist.
  • Ein Wunsch. Zum Beispiel Macho-Männer, die einer Bande Cowboys beitreten wollen.
  • Eine notwendige Aufgabe. Zum Beispiel Unternehmen, die die ölhaltigen Abfälle aus ihren Fabriken gesetzeskonform entsorgen müssen.

Diese drei Kategorien von Bedürfnis entsprechen dem Pain, Gain bzw. Job-to-be-done aus Kapitel 1.1 Customer Need.

Im Idealfall erfüllt die Zielgruppe die folgenden Kriterien:

  • Es sind die Personen, bei denen das Kundenbedürfnis aus Kapitel 1.1 am stärksten ist.
  • Es sind die Personen, die für die Lösung am leichtesten zu begeistern sind.
  • Es sind die Personen, die von den besonderen Vorzügen des Angebotes am meisten profitieren.
  • Es sind die Personen, die am wahrscheinlichsten das Angebot kaufen werden.

Traditionelle Merkmale allein sind nicht genug

Traditionell wurden Zielgruppen einfach über demografische Merkmale oder Statistiken definiert, z.B. bei Menschen Alter, Familienstand oder Einkommen oder bei Unternehmen Branche, Anzahl Mitarbeiter oder Jahresumsatz.

Solche Merkmale sind aber allein nicht genug. „Unternehmen mit einem Jahresumsatz über 100 Mio. €“ erklärt einem Innovationsberater noch nicht, wie er sein Angebot gestalten soll. „Unternehmen, die einen Jahresumsatz von mehr als 100 Mio. € haben und die einen akuten Nachholbedarf bei der Produktinnovation haben“ dagegen schon. Hier sagt die zusätzliche Information, welche Unternehmen ein großes Interesse an eine professionelle Innovationsberatung haben könnten.

Demografische oder statistische Merkmale können verwendet werden, um…

  • freiwillige oder natürliche Einschränkungen der Zielgruppe zu beschreiben, z.B. ein bestimmter Stadtteil für eine Bäckerei,
  • Hinweise darüber zu geben, wer das Kundenbedürfnis haben könnte, z.B. „Menschen in Heilberufen“ für eine Zeitschrift. 

Mehrseitige Märkte

Manche Geschäftsmodelle haben sogenannte mehrseitige Märkte, das heißt, sie bedienen zwei verschiedene Zielgruppen. Beispiele hierfür sind:

  • Ebay: Käufer und Verkäufer
  • Airbnb: Wohnungsbesitzer und Reisende
  • Google: Internet-Nutzer und werbende Unternehmen

Handels- und Maklerplattforme wie Ebay und Airbnb haben automatisch einen mehrseitigen Markt. Werbeplattforme wie Google haben immer Werbungtreibende und die Nutzer, die Zielgruppe der Werbungtreibenden sind.

Startups mit einem mehrseitigen Markt haben den doppelten Aufwand, denn sie müssen zwei Zielgruppen definieren, zwei Kundenbedürfnisse ermitteln und ein Angebot entwickeln, das gleichzeitig beide Zielgruppen befriedigt.

Organisationen als Zielgruppe

Wenn die Zielgruppe aus Organisationen besteht, genügt es für Phase 1, diese Organisationen zu charakterisieren. Die Personen innerhalb dieser Organisationen, die die Kaufentscheidung beeinflussen, werden später (im Kapitel 5.1 Customer Acquisition) betrachtet.

Die Schlüsselfrage zu diesem Kapitel

  • Wer genau braucht das Produkt, das ihr entwickeln wollt und warum brauchen sie es? 

Downloads

Kapitel

Basis-Arbeitsmaterial

Kommentar absenden

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.