1.4 Business Model

Version 2.4 of 29.09.17

How do you plan to make money and what is necessary to do that?

A business model is a blueprint for a company. It describes how the company creates the offer and how makes money from it. It is a compact representation that contains everything that is important in order to present a business idea and that is not bloated by irrelevant information.

Founders should start working on their business model early, because it contributes plausibility to their project: there must be a believable and economic way to create the product and bring it to the market. For this reason, the rough draft of the business model is stage 1 of Steve Blank’s Investment Readiness Level – it is the first stage of maturity of a startup.

Old and New Business Models

Most newly founded companies use standard business models; in this sense, all restaurants, lawyers’ practices and advertising studios are identical. By contrast, startups often use innovative business models, which are also the basis for their success. Airbnb, for example, invented a business model that connects private home-owners and travelers in a new way.

A business model describes the rationale of how an organization creates, delivers and captures value.

Alexander Osterwalder

The Advantages of a Business Model

A business model is a description of a company that is restricted to the few elements concerned with value creation. It has several advantages for startup founders:

  • It is compact. The business model can be drawn on a single page.
  • Topics that are not relevant to designing the company are not included and therefore do not clutter it up.
  • It provides a language for describing a company. This facilitates discussions about the planned company and makes it possible to understand other companies’ strategies and possibly also to copy them.
  • It helps all participants to gain the same view of their project.
  • It facilitates comparisons with competitors.
  • Investors are familiar with business models and insist on them. Nowadays, every business plan and every application for funding requires the inclusion of a business model.
  • The individual elements can be considered and replaced separately. This makes it easier to adapt and optimize the model.

Typical Elements of a Business Model

There have been many different suggestions for representing a business model. They emphasize different aspects of a company depending on the situation. Some typical elements are:

  • Target Market. The market or market segment for whom the offer is being developed.
  • Revenue Model. How and for what does the customer pay? (For example, asset purchase or subscription).
  • Channels. How the company reaches its target market, for example with advertising or customer support.
  • Customer Relationships. The type of relationship that the company maintains with its customers, for example personal contact or newsletter.
  • Offer. What the company provides (usually a product or a service).
  • Partners. External partners who are needed in order make the offer available, for example advertising platforms or suppliers of unique components.
  • Positioning. What distinguishes the company or its offer from the alternatives.

Only What is Essential

One important principle when developing a business model is to only include what is absolutely essential. As a matter of principle, only information is important in order to understand how the company plans to make its offer available and earn money. This principle means in particular:

  • The model does not contain any quantitative information (for example Euro values in the costs), only qualitative information.
  • Activities, costs etc. that do not contribute to value creation do not belong in the business model. Examples are bookkeeping and the CEO’s company car.
  • Only the resources and partners are relevant that contribute to delivering the offer to the market. (The office supplier, for example, has no explanatory power, even though the company will certainly need office material.)

The Business Model Canvas

There is one template for describing a model that is particularly popular and has become the de facto standard for startups. It was originated by Alexander Osterwalder and is called Business Model Canvas (BMC).

Because of its popularity, the BMC is a good starting point for startups, because there are many examples and descriptions to be found on the Internet. Another advantage of the BMC is its simple graphical structure, which makes it good for displaying on the wall of the office.

Business Models and Business Plans

Business models and business plans are not the same thing. A business plan is a comprehensive representation of an entrepreneurial project that is used to make investment decisions. It is a substantial document – often 30 or more pages long – and it contains a business model as just one of many sections. The business plan contains a lot of information that is not appropriate for a business model, for example the structure of the planned company or a detailed financial plan. Business plans are only relevant to startups after they have validated their business model and are looking for investors to finance expansion.

Business plans can be dangerous for startups: they are often viewed as predictions of the future, even though they are based on untested assumptions. This can tempt the founders (and their inves-ors) into slavishly following the plan – even if it has become clear in the meantime that reality is different. This is exactly the error that Lean Startup was designed to avoid.

Business plans are made for the kind of people who like sausages but don’t know how they are made.

Yossi Vardi

Looking for Inspiration

It can be valuable to look to other companies to get inspiration for a business model, because an innovative business model can be the key to a startup’s success. Some old-fashioned business models are inefficient or unattractive for the customer, so that a new, improved model can have a lot of potential. Here are three examples for modern elements of business model that can be transferred:

  • „Uberization“. Instead of offering a service itself, a company creates a platform that brokers independent suppliers of that service. Examples: Airbnb, Uber.
  • X-as-a-Service. Instead of selling a product (“X“), which the customer uses to perform a task, a service is offered that serves the same customer need. This makes ownership of the product unnecessary and eliminates all the associated disadvantages. Examples: Teilauto, Shapeways, Netflix.
  • Crowdsourcing. Users supply free contributions such as product ideas, designs or media con-tent, that the company otherwise would have had to generate or purchase itself. Examples: Kickstarter, Shapeways, Lego Ideas.

Comments on Business Models

The business model will change many times during the planning stage of the startup. Market research and customer interviews will uncover weaknesses in the original concept and with increased market knowledge, the founders will find better alternatives. Small changes to a business model are called iterations, whereas significant changes are known as pivots.

There are several evaluation criteria for business models. These can reveal both strengths and weaknesses. Founders should check the quality of their concept, once it has reached a relatively stable form.

If the startup has a multi-sided market, (for example, advertisers and users with Facebook), its business model must take both sides into account.

This Topic’s Key Question

  • How can you build a successful company based on your idea?

Next Steps

  • You have now reached the end of Phase 1 Plausibility.
  • If you are using our course material, you should complete all the exercises in Phase 1 before moving on to Phase 2.
  • Otherwise, continue reading with Phase 2: Potential.

Download

1.4 Business Model

Version 2.1 vom 24.08.17

Wie wollt ihr Geld verdienen und was ist dafür erforderlich?

Ein Geschäftsmodell ist eine Blaupause für ein Unternehmen. Es beschreibt, wie das Angebot zustande kommt und wie das Unternehmen Geld damit verdient. Es ist eine kompakte Darstellung, die alles Wichtige enthält, um eine Geschäftsidee zu präsentieren und die nicht durch überflüssige Information aufgebläht ist.

Gründer sollten sich schon früh mit ihrem Geschäftsmodell auseinandersetzen, weil es einen großen Beitrag zur Plausibilität ihres Gründungsprojektes liefert: Es muss es einen glaubwürdigen und wirtschaftlichen Weg geben, das geplante Produkt bereitzustellen und den Markt damit zu erreichen. Darum ist der Rohentwurf des Geschäftsmodells die Stufe 1 des Investment Readiness Levels von Steve Blank – er ist für ihn die erste Reifestufe für ein Startup.

Alte und neue Geschäftsmodelle

Die meisten neu gegründeten Unternehmen verwenden bekannte Geschäftsmodelle; in dieser Hinsicht sind alle neuen Restaurants, Anwaltskanzleien und Werbeagenturen identisch. Im Gegensatz dazu können Startups innovative Geschäftsmodelle verwenden, die auch die Grundlage für ihren Erfolg darstellen. Airbnb beispielsweise hat ein Geschäftsmodell erfunden, das private Wohnungsbesitzer und Reisende auf neuartige Weise zusammenbringt.

A business model describes the rationale of how an organization creates, delivers and captures value.

Alexander Osterwalder

Die Vorteile eines Geschäftsmodells

Das Geschäftsmodell ist eine Beschreibung eines Unternehmens, die sich auf die wenigen Elemente beschränkt, die für die Wertschöpfung erforderlich sind. Es hat für Startup-Gründer einige Vorteile:

  • Es ist sehr kompakt. Das Geschäftsmodell kann auf einem einzigen Blatt wiedergegeben werden.
  • Für die Unternehmensgestaltung irrelevante Inhalte sind nicht enthalten und stören dadurch nicht.
  • Sie stellt eine Sprache zur Beschreibung eines Unternehmens bereit. Das erleichtert die Diskussion um das geplante Unternehmen und macht es möglich, die Strategien anderer Unternehmen zu verstehen und gegebenenfalls auch zu übernehmen.
  • Es hilft allen Beteiligten, die selbe Sicht auf ihr gemeinsames Projekt zu gewinnen.
  • Es erleichtert den Vergleich mit Wettbewerbern.
  • Investoren kennen es und bestehen auch darauf. Heutzutage muss jeder Business Plan und jeder Antrag auf Gründerförderung ein Geschäftsmodell enthalten.
  • Die einzelnen Bausteine können individuell betrachtet und ausgetauscht werden. Dadurch ist es leichter, das Modell anzupassen und zu optimieren.

Typische Elemente eines Geschäftsmodells

Es gibt viele verschiedene Vorschläge, wie ein Geschäftsmodell am besten zu beschreiben ist. Sie stellen je nach Anwendung unterschiedliche Aspekte eines Unternehmens in den Vordergrund. Einige typische Elemente sind:

  • Zielgruppe. Der Markt bzw. das Marktsegment, an das Angebot gerichtet wird.
  • Erlösmodell. Wie und für was der Kunde zahlt? (Zum Beispiel Einmalpreis oder Abonnement)
  • Kanäle. Wie das Unternehmen seine Zielgruppe erreicht, zum Beispiel mit Werbung oder Kundensupport.
  • Kundenbeziehungen. Die Art von Beziehung, die das Unternehmen zu seinen Kunden pflegt, zum Beispiel persönlicher Kontakt oder Email-Newsletter.
  • Leistung. Das, was das Unternehmen bereitstellt (meistens ein Produkt oder eine Dienstleistung)
  • Partner. Externe Kooperationspartner, die benötigt werden, um die Leistung bereitzustellen, zum Beispiel Werbeplattforme oder Lieferanten einzigartiger Komponenten.
  • Positionierung. Was das Unternehmen bzw. seine Leistung von allen anderen unterscheidet.

Nur das Notwendigste

Ein wichtiges Leitprinzip bei der Erstellung des Geschäftsmodells ist, nur das Notwendigste hinzuschreiben. Grundsätzlich gilt, dass dort nur Informationen wichtig sind, die benötigt werden, um zu verstehen, wie das Unternehmen ihr Angebot bereitstellen und wie es Geld verdienen will. Dieses Prinzip bedeutet insbesondere:

  • Das Modell enthält keine quantitativen Angaben (zum Beispiel Euro-Beträge bei den Kosten), sondern lediglich qualitative Beschreibungen.
  • Aktivitäten, Kosten usw., die nicht zur Wertschöpfung beitragen, gehören nicht ins Geschäftsmodell. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Buchführung und der Dienstwagen des Geschäftsführers.
  • Es sind nur die Ressourcen und Partner interessant, die zur Bereitstellung des Angebotes beitragen. (Der Lieferant von Büromaterial hat zum Beispiel keine Erklärkraft, auch wenn das Unternehmen sicherlich Büromaterial benötigen wird.)

Das Business Model Canvas

Eine bestimmte Schablone zur Beschreibung eines Geschäftsmodells erfreut sich einer sehr großen Beliebtheit und ist bei Startups fast zum de facto Standard geworden. Er stammt von Alexander Osterwalder und wird Business Model Canvas (BMC) genannt.

Das BMC bietet wegen seiner großen Beliebtheit einen guten Startpunkt für Gründer, weil viele Beispiele und Beschreibungen dafür im Internet zu finden sind. Ein weiterer Vorteil des BMC ist sein einfacher grafischer Aufbau, sodass er sich gut als Poster für die Bürowand eignet.

Geschäftsmodelle und Business-Pläne

Business Models und Business Plans sind nicht dasselbe. Ein Business Plan ist eine umfangreiche Darstellung eines unternehmerischen Vorhabens, das benutzt wird, um Investitionsentscheidungen zu treffen. Er ist sehr umfangreich – oft 30 oder mehr Seiten lang – und enthält ein Geschäftsmodell als nur einen von vielen Abschnitten. Der Business Plan enthält viele Angaben, die für ein Geschäftsmodell nicht relevant sind, zum Beispiel die Gliederung des geplanten Unternehmens oder eine detaillierte Finanzplanung. Business Plans werden für Startups erst dann relevant, wenn ihre Gründer Investoren suchen.

Für Startups bergen Business Plans eine große Gefahr in sich: Sie werden oft als Zukunftsprognosen behandelt, obwohl sie auf ungesicherten Annahmen basieren. Das kann die Gründer (und ihre Geldgeber) dazu verleiten, sich sklavisch am darin enthaltenen Plan zu halten – selbst dann, wenn es längst klargeworden ist, dass die Wirklichkeit eine andere ist. Dies ist genau der Fehler, der durch Lean Startup vermieden werden soll.

Business plans are made for the kind of people who like sausages but don’t know how they are made.

Yossi Vardi

Anregungen holen

Es kann sich lohnen, Inspiration für ein Geschäftsmodell bei anderen Unternehmen zu suchen, denn manchmal ist ein innovatives Geschäftsmodell der Schlüssel zum Startup-Erfolg. Manche altmodischen Modelle sind ineffizient oder für den Kunden ungünstig, sodass ein neues, verbessertes Modell ein großes Potential in sich bergen kann. Hier sind drei Beispiele für moderne Geschäftsmodelle:

  • „Uberization“. Statt eine Dienstleistung selbst anzubieten schafft das Unternehmen eine Plattform, die unabhängige Anbieter der Dienstleistung vermittelt. Beispiele: Airbnb, Uber.
  • X-as-a-Service. Statt ein Produkt zu verkaufen, mit dem der Kunde selbst eine Aufgabe erledigt, wird eine Dienstleistung verkauft, wodurch der Produktbesitz überflüssig wird. Beispiele: Teilauto, Shapeways, Netflix.
  • Crowdsourcing. Nutzer liefern Inhalte wie Produktideen, Designs oder Medien. Beispiele: Kickstarter, Shapeways, Lego Ideas.

Bemerkungen zum Geschäftsmodell

Das Geschäftsmodell ändert sich während der Gründungsvorbereitung sehr oft. Durch Marktrecherchen und Zielgruppeninterviews werden Schwächen im Originalkonzept klar, und mit zunehmendem Marktverstehen lernen die Gründer bessere Ansätze für ihr Geschäftsmodell kennen. Kleine Änderungen am Modell werden Iterations genannt. Große Änderungen heißen Pivots.

Es gibt Bewertungskriterien für Geschäftsmodelle. Gründer sollten die Qualität ihres Konzepts prüfen, wenn es sich einigermaßen stabilisiert hat.

Hat das Startup einen mehrseitigen Markt (zum Beispiel Werbetreibende und Nutzer bei Facebook), muss sein Geschäftsmodell beide Zielgruppen berücksichtigen.

Die Schlüsselfrage zu diesem Kapitel

  • Kann man auf der Basis der vorliegenden Idee ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen aufbauen?

Downloads

Kapitel

Basis-Arbeitsmaterial

Vertiefendes Kurs- und Coaching-Material

Das gesamte Vertiefungsmaterial wird auf einer separaten passwortgeschützten Seite gespeichert.

Links

Kommentar absenden

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.