2.3 Key Features

Version 1.8 of 13.04.18

What attributes must your offer have and what is unique about them?

The key features of a startup’s product are the specific attributes that give it an advantage over its competitors. They provide greater customer benefits and make the product unique. For this reason, key features are an important component of the potential of a startup that every investor wants to know about.

In theory, there is a difference between product features and product functions. A function is something a product can do, whereas a feature is a particular attribute of a product. However, for simplicity, we will use “feature” for both.

Differentiation is one of the most important strategic and tactical activities in which companies must constantly engage.

Theodore Levitt

Key Features and Customer Benefits

A startup’s potential depends on its being able to offer its customers significantly greater value than its competitors can. It is the key features that make this increased value possible.

Every customer benefit that the founders use to position their product is based on a key feature or a combination of them. In most cases it is the startup’s innovation that makes the new features possible which in turn provide the product’s core benefit – and thereby its competitive advantage.

Google’s search engine was not the first one on the market, but it had a key feature that none of its predecessors possessed: It used the outgoing links to other web pages as a measure of quality and used them to determine ranking positions. This made Google’s search results much more useful than any of its competitors.

Key Features and Uniqueness

A startup product must be unique, in order that potential customers notice it and remember it. This uniqueness is also based on one or more of its key features.

It would be very difficult for a startup to attract attention if its product only offered “more of the same” – even if this “more” is beneficial to its users. “Better quality” or “greater selection” may well be true claims, but they do not make a product unique and are not memorable.

Before Starbucks, there was nowhere in the USA where you could drink good coffee and relax with friends, other than in your own home. High-quality coffee in a pleasant atmosphere was the unique key feature that enabled Starbuck’s early success.

If you aren’t easily understood as being different, the customer will forget or confuse you.

Gus Tai

A product’s uniqueness is sometimes called “Point of Differentiation (PoD)” – the aspect in which it differs from all the others. Another frequently used term is “Unique Selling Proposition (USP)”. In startup circles it is often called “Secret Sauce” – the secret ingredient contained in the product that nobody else knows about.

The Milestone Performance Achievement

Ideally, an innovative product achieves a “milestone” in its performance. This means that its performance is not just better than the alternatives but that it attains a remarkable or memorable level.

For example, Amazon’s “one click” purchase button did not just make paying in the Internet a little easier than before – it made it the easiest it could possibly be, since it is not possible to interact with a web page with less than one click.

Narrowing your feature set down to the one feature that is a game changer is difficult, but it is an absolute necessity.

Will Caldwell

Similarly, Federal Express did not just deliver documents and packages a little faster than the US Postal Service, but within 24 hours in the entire USA.

Other Comments

What constitutes a key feature depends on which customer need is being served. For example, if the Core Benefit of a new text editor is it supports fast typing, then the ability to control the formatting of the text very precisely is not a key feature, whereas the ability to hide all the symbols and menus which might distract the user while typing could be one. On the other hand, if the editor’s core benefit is related to its usefulness for professional design applications, then precise control of the formatting could well be a key feature.

Investors and journalists like to ask about key features. They help investors to evaluate the startup’s potential and they help journalists to write an interesting article.

Not every product function is a key feature: For example, every piece of software for creating documents needs functions such as Insert, Save and Delete, but these are Hygiene factors (see Worksheet 4.3.1 The Kano Model). They have to be present in the product, but they are nothing special, and they certainly do not make it unique.

Key features must also be validated, since only customers and users can confirm that a given customer benefit is a decisive reason to buy, which in turn justifies the key features that make that benefit possible.

During validation (Phase 3: Validation), interviewees and test users may suggest ideas for additional product features. These should be treated with caution, since they may only be relevant to the person suggesting them. However, it is also possible that one of these ideas can lead to a new key feature that makes the product even more attractive.

Key features play an important role in a product’s positioning (Chapter 3.4 Market Position), because they contribute to the desired image of the product in the minds of prospective customers. For example, Snapchat has positioned itself against other sharing apps with its key feature of deleting users’ content after a short time, and this is also the one fact about Snapchat that everybody knows.

This Topic’s Key Question

  • What unique feature gives your product its irresistible customer benefit?

Next Steps

Worksheets

Worksheets for this chapter:

  • Worksheet 2.3.1 Key Features
  • Airchecker Example 2.3.1 Key Features

All worksheets are available via a password-protected page.

Download

2.3 Key Features

Version 1.6 vom 29.10.17

Welche Merkmale muss euer Angebot aufweisen, und was ist daran einzigartig?

Die Schlüsselmerkmale eines Startup-Produktes sind die besonderen Eigenschaften, die ihm einen Vorsprung gegenüber seiner Konkurrenz geben. Sie ermöglichen größere Kundenvorteile und machen das Produkt einzigartig. Aus diesem Grund sind die Schlüsselmerkmale (Key Features) des Produktes ein wichtiger Aspekt der Potenzialeinschätzung eines Startup-Projektes nach dem jeder Investor fragt.

Man unterscheidet gelegentlich bei einem Produkt zwischen Features (Merkmale) und Functions (Funktionen). Eine Funktion ist etwas, was ein Produkt kann, ein Feature ist ein besonderes Merkmal eines Produktes. Wir verwenden hier der Einfachheit halber das Wort Feature für beides.

Differentiation is one of the most important strategic and tactical activities in which companies must constantly engage.

Theodore Levitt

Key Features und Kundenvorteile

Das Potenzial eines Startups hängt davon ab, dass es seiner Zielgruppe einen erheblich größeren Nutzen bietet, als seine Konkurrenten es können. Es sind die Key Features (Schlüsselmerkmale), die diesen größeren Nutzen möglich machen.

Jeder Kundenvorteil, mit dem die Gründer die Positionierung ihres Produktes begründen wollen, beruht auf einem Schlüsselmerkmal oder auf einer Kombination aus mehreren solchen Merkmalen. Meistens sind es neue Features, die durch die Innovation des Startups erst möglich wurden, die den Kernvorteil des Produktes – und damit seinen Wettbewerbsvorsprung – liefern.

Die Internet-Suchmaschine von Google war nicht die erste am Markt. Sie hatte aber eine technische Besonderheit, die keiner ihrer Vorgänger besaß: Sie hat die Links zu einer Webseite als Qualitätsmerkmale interpretiert und genutzt, um ihren Ranking-Platz zu berechnen. Damit war die Nützlichkeit ihrer Suchergebnisse wesentlich höher als bei allen Konkurrenten.

Key Features und Einzigartigkeit

Ein Startup-Produkt sollte einzigartig sein, damit es von seiner Zielgruppe erkannt wird und bei ihr in Erinnerung bleibt. Diese Einzigartigkeit ist ebenfalls in einem oder mehreren seiner Key Features begründet.

Es wäre für ein Startup schwierig, auf sich aufmerksam zu machen, wenn sein Produkt lediglich „mehr vom selben“ zu bieten hätte – auch wenn dieses „mehr“ für seine Nutzer vorteilhaft ist. „Höhere Qualität“ oder „größere Auswahl“ mögen zwar für ihr Angebot zutreffen, begründen aber keine Einzigartigkeit und bleiben nicht in Erinnerung.

Vor Starbucks gab es in den USA keine Möglichkeit, außerhalb der eigenen vier Wände guten Kaffee zu trinken und sich in angenehmer Atmosphäre mit Freunden zu treffen. Kaffeequalität in angenehmer Atmosphäre war auch das Schlüsselmerkmal, das zum frühen Erfolg von Starbucks geführt hat.

If you aren’t easily understood as being different, the customer will forget or confuse you.

Gus Tai

Die Einzigartigkeit eines Produktes wird auf Englisch Point of Differentiation (PoD) genannt – der Punkt, in dem sich das Produkt von allen anderen unterscheidet. Eine weitere gebräuchliche Bezeichnung dafür ist Unique Selling Proposition (Alleinstellungsmerkmal). In der Startup-Szene wird sie auch oft umgangssprachlich Secret Sauce genannt – die geheime Rezeptzutat, die im Produkt steckt und die kein anderer kennt.

Die Meilensteinleistung

Im Idealfall erreicht die Leistung eines innovativen Produktes einen „Meilenstein“ – das heißt, sie übertrifft nicht nur alle Alternativen, sondern sie erreicht dabei einen beeindruckenden Wert.

Die „Ein-Click“-Funktion von Amazon beispielsweise macht das Bezahlen im Internet nicht nur ein bisschen einfacher, als zuvor, sondern sie war (und ist) an Komfort nicht zu überbieten, denn noch weniger Aufwand als ein einziger Mausklick, um eine Aktion auf einer Webseite durchzuführen kann es nicht geben.

Narrowing your feature set down to the one feature that is a game changer is difficult, but it is an absolute necessity. 

Will Caldwell

Federal Express hat Dokumente und Pakete nicht nur etwas schneller als die US-Post geliefert, sondern sie haben sie innerhalb von 24 Stunden ans Ziel gebracht.

Bemerkungen

Was ein Key Feature ist, hängt davon ab, welches Kundenbedürfnis damit befriedigt werden soll. Wenn bei einem neuen Text-Editor der entscheidende Kundenvorteil die schnelle Eingabe sein soll, ist eine präzise Steuerung der Formatierung kein Schlüsselmerkmal; Die Möglichkeit, alle Symbole und Menüs während des Schnellschreibens auszublenden, damit sie den Nutzer nicht ablenken, dagegen schon. Sollte aber auf der anderen Seite der entscheidende Kundenvorteil des Editors seine Eignung für Design-Aufgaben sein, könnte die Möglichkeit einer präzisen Formatierung sehr wohl ein Key Feature sein.

Investoren und Journalisten fragen gern nach Key Features. Für einen Investor tragen sie zu seiner Einschätzung des Potenzials bei und einem Journalisten hilft es, einen Artikel zu schreiben, der Aufmerksamkeit erzeugt.

Nicht jede Produktfunktion ist ein Key Feature: Jede Software zu Erstellung von Dokumenten braucht beispielsweise die Funktionen Einfügen, Löschen und Speichern, aber diese sind Hygienefaktoren (siehe Werkzeug 4.3.1 Das Kano-Modell) und keine Schlüsselmerkmale: Sie müssen zwar vorhanden sein, aber sie sind nichts Besonderes.

Auch die Key Features hängen von der Validierung ab, denn nur Kunden bzw. Nutzer können bestätigen, dass bestimmte Kundenvorteile entscheidende Kaufargumente sind, wodurch die Schlüsselmerkmale, die sie ermöglichen sollen, erst gerechtfertigt werden.

Während der Validierungsphase (Phase 3 Validation) schlagen Gesprächspartner und Testnutzer Ideen für weitere Produkteigenschaften vor. Diese sind aber oft nur Spezialwünsche, die mit Vorsicht zu genießen sind. Es ist aber auch möglich, dass sich darunter ein sehr wertvoller Vorschlag befindet, der zu einem neuen Key Feature werden kann und dem Produkt noch weitere Vorteile verleiht.

Die Key Features spielen bei der Positionierung eines Produktes (Kapitel 3.4 Market Position) eine wichtige Rolle, denn sie bestimmen das Bild des Produktes, das in den Köpfen der Zielgruppe entstehen soll.

Die Schlüsselfrage zu diesem Kapitel

  • Welches einzigartige Merkmal verleiht eurem Produkt seinen unwiderstehlichen Kundenvorteil?

Downloads

Kapitel

Basis-Arbeitsmaterial

Vertiefendes Kurs- und Coaching-Material

Das gesamte Vertiefungsmaterial wird auf einer separaten passwortgeschützten Seite gespeichert.

Kommentar absenden

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.