Phase 2: Potential

Version 2.2 of 07.04.18

Does this project have the potential to be a success?

Startups want to grow to become large. Potential describes the size the company could one day reach, if everything goes according to plan and the founders also have the luck that they need.

A startup’s potential is very important to investors, because it helps them to evaluate it; the larger the company, the more valuable it is for a buyer. But potential is also relevant for government programs, because they have the goal of creating positive economic effects via startup funding. Therefore, founders must be able to explain the potential of their startup convincingly in a pitch to investors or an awards committee.

What investors are looking for when they invest in a startup is the possibility that it could become a giant.

Paul Graham

Size Matters

Potential distinguishes startups from other young companies: a newly founded sandwich shop on the corner is not a startup, but a newly founded sandwich shop franchise like Subway that one day will have more than 20,000 franchises under contract around the world could well be.

The news regularly contains reports about startups that have just received a million-dollar investment or that have just been sold for a nine-figure sum or more. It is the huge potential of these startups that leads to valuations of this magnitude.

In most cases, founders must realize that their business idea does not have the potential to become a startup. However, that doesn’t mean that their idea is bad or that they should not go ahead with their plan – after all, the vast majority of companies are not startups. If the founders can solve a customer problem well with their idea, then founding a company can still be the right thing for them to do.

Factors that Contribute to Potential

Phase 2 is concerned with four topics that determine a startup’s potential.

If it wants to become very large, a startup …

  • must have a large market with weak competition
  • must have a unique and innovative offer
  • that provides an increased customer benefit compared to what was previously available.

The size of the market determines the sales volume or the number of users the startup can theoretically reach. The strength of the competition determines what share of the market the startup can obtain. For example, in 2016, the e-commerce market in USA was about 450 Bn$, of which Amazon had a share of about 43%.

The second and third factors are needed so that prospective customers notice the product and buy it. If a product is not unique, it is hard for it to gain attention and to occupy a clear market position. If the customer benefits are not superior, then there is no reason for prospective customers to buy it. Twitter, Snapchat and Pinterest are all examples of innovative products that offered their users new possibilities.

The fourth factor that contributes to a startup’s potential is the founders’ imagination and self-confidence to define an ambitious goal for their startup and to see it through. Already in 1978, Bill Gates and Paul Allen, the founders of Microsoft, dreamed of there being a “computer on every desk and in every home”.

Content of Phase 2

The four chapters of Phase 2 are:

  • Customer Benefits. What customer benefits are provided by the product and how large are they?
  • Market Analysis. How large is the market for the product and how strong is the competition?
  • Key Features. What features are absolutely necessary for the product and how is it different from the alternatives?
  • Founders’ Vision. What are the founders’ long-term goals for their company?

Market Analysis (Chapter 2.2) corresponds to Level 2 of Steve Blank’s Investment Readiness Level.

Customer Benefits (Chapter 2.1) and Key Features (Chapter 2.3) are important aspects of Product-Market Fit – the most important milestone in the life of a startup and Level 5 of the Investment Readiness Level.

Next Steps

Download

Phase 2: Potential

Version 2.2 vom 07.04.18

Hat das Gründungsprojekt das Potenzial, ein Erfolg zu werden?

Startups wollen groß werden. Das Potenzial beschreibt, wie groß das Unternehmen eines Tages werden könnte, wenn alle Pläne in Erfüllung gehen und auch das notwendige Quäntchen Glück dazu kommt.

Das Potenzial eines Startups ist für Investoren von großem Interesse, weil es ihnen hilft, das Startup zu bewerten, denn je größer das Unternehmen, desto wertvoller ist es für einen Käufer. Das Potenzial ist aber auch für staatliche Förderprogramme relevant, denn diese haben den Auftrag, durch die Unterstützung von Startup-Gründungen einen positiven wirtschaftlichen Effekt für das Land zu bewirken. Daraus folgt, dass Gründer das Potenzial ihres Startups bei Pitches vor Investoren oder Vergabegremien überzeugend begründen müssen.

What investors are looking for when they invest in a startup is the possibility that it could become a giant.

Paul Graham

Auf die Größe kommt es an

Das Potenzial unterscheidet Startups von normalen Unternehmensgründungen: Ein frisch gegründeter Sandwich-Laden an der Straßenecke ist kein Startup, ein frisch gegründetes Sandwich-Laden-Franchise wie Subway, das eines Tages mehr als 20.000 Sandwich-Läden in der ganzen Welt unter Vertrag haben soll, dagegen schon.

Es gehen regelmäßig Meldungen durch die Nachrichten, dass in Silicon Valley wieder ein Startup eine millionenschwere Finanzierung erhalten hat oder für einen neunstelligen Betrag oder noch mehr verkauft worden ist. Es ist das große Potenzial dieser Startups, das zu solchen Bewertungen führt.

Manchmal müssen Gründungsinteressierte feststellen, dass ihre Geschäftsidee nicht genügend Potenzial hat, um daraus ein Startup zu machen. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass ihre Idee schlecht ist oder dass sie nicht gründen sollten – schließlich sind fast alle Unternehmen keine Startups. Wenn sie mit ihrer Idee ein Kundenproblem erfolgreich lösen können kann eine Gründung immer noch sinnvoll und wünschenswert sein.

Was macht das Potenzial aus?

Phase 2 beschäftigt sich mit vier Themen, die das Erfolgspotenzial eines Startups bestimmen.

Um groß werden zu können, muss ein Startup…

  • mit einem einzigartigen, innovativen Angebot,
  • einer großen Zielgruppe,
  • einen bisher noch nie da gewesenen Vorteil liefern.

Darüber hinaus brauchen die Gründer die Fantasie und das Selbstvertrauen, um ein derart ehrgeiziges Ziel sich vorzunehmen.

Die Größe des Marktes bestimmt, wie viel Umsatz bzw. wie viele Nutzer das Startup theoretisch erreichen könnte. Die Stärke der Konkurrenz bestimmt, welchen Anteil des Marktes das Startup für sich gewinnen kann. So war beispielsweise 2016 der Markt für Online-Handel in USA etwa 450 Mrd. $, und Amazon hatte davon etwa 43%.

Die zweite und die dritte Voraussetzung zusammen sind notwendig, damit die Mitglieder der Zielgruppe das Angebot tatsächlich wahrnehmen und kaufen. Ohne Einzigartigkeit ist es schwierig, Aufmerksamkeit zu gewinnen und eine klare Marktposition zu besetzen, und ohne Kundenvorteil gibt es für die Zielgruppe keinen Grund, das Produkt zu wählen. Twitter, Snapchat und Pinterest sind alle Beispiele für innovative Produkte, die ihren Nutzern noch nie dagewesene Möglichkeiten angeboten haben.

Als vierte Voraussetzung für großes Potenzial brauchen die Gründer die Fantasie und das Selbstbewusstsein, um für ihr Startup ein ehrgeiziges Ziel zu wählen und auch zu verfolgen. Die Gründer von Microsoft, Bill Gates und Paul Allen, träumten schon 1978 davon, dass es eines Tages einen Computer auf jedem Schreibtisch und in jeder Wohnung geben würde.

Inhalt von Phase 2

Die vier Kapitel von Phase 2 sind:

  • 2.1 Customer Benefits. Welche Vorteile haben Kunden vom Produkt und wie groß sind diese Vorteile?
  • 2.2 Market Analysis. Wie groß ist der Markt für das Produkt und wie stark ist die Konkurrenz?
  • 2.3 Key Features. Was muss das Produkt unbedingt leisten und worin unterscheidet es sich von den Alternativen?
  • 2.4 Founders’ Vision. Wie sieht die langfristige Vorstellung der Gründer für ihr Unternehmen aus?

Die Marktanalyse (Kapitel 2.2) entspricht der Stufe 2 des Investment Readiness Level (IRL) von Steve Blank.

Kundenvorteile (Kapitel 2.1) und Key Features (Kapitel 2.3) sind wichtige Aspekte von Product-Market-Fit – dem wichtigsten Meilenstein im Leben eines Startups und der Stufe 5 des IRL.

Download

 

Kommentar absenden

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.